Change of Plan

Since April I have known that I would be living and working in Mitchell House in Limpopo, South Africa. I would be a teaching assistant in life skill classes for children with mental and physical disabilities. I would be living with 3 other volunteers in a flat on site.  As of today, my placement has changed.

I will now be living and working in Durbanville Children’s Home in Cape Town. My job will be very varied. There are currently 144 children living at Durbanville Children’s Home, ranging from 18 months to 19 years old. I will do a mix of day shifts and night shifts. My main responsibilities will be getting the children ready for school, helping with their homework, playing/entertaining them, preparing food, taking the children to church on Sundays, making sure they’re okay through the night etc.

These projects are very different and both are intense and difficult in different ways. I will definitely still be visiting Mitchell House whilst I am in South Africa.

I’d like to thank all my sponsors, donors and anyone who has helped me on my journey so far. The path is opening up and opportunities are becoming endless. I can’t wait to share this exciting time in my life with you all.

Leave a Reply

